plymouth images
homeroomsreservationssightseeingFAQ'Sdirections

Bed and Breakfast Reviews

 

It is all here

 “Very comfortable”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 27 July 2012 NEW

I stayed at the Athenaeum for one night after an evening at the theatre. Very friendly welcome, comfortable room and spotlessly clean everywhere. Lovely breakfast and nothing too much trouble. Convenient location for theatres etc with parking if required but also just a short taxi ride from the station. Would definitely stay here again and recommend

“Excellent”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 July 2012 NEW

Athenaeum Lodge is a lovely hotel, it is well located and the owners are very pleasant. We felt comfortable there. We miss the succulent breakfasts cooked by David and the elegance Jane has serving them.

“Superb B & B”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 July 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and were looked after very well. Everywhere was clean and comfortable and nothing was too much trouble for our hosts. Very convenient for both The Hoe and shops, theatre etc. Would definately stay there again.

“atheneum lodge”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 23 July 2012

Our stay was very pleasant. The rooms are very nice and very friendly. Jane and David are very nice and friendly hosts. Our breakfast was very rich and tasty. We can only recommend the atheneum.

“Will stay there again”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 22 July 2012

I stayed at the Athenaeum Lodge for 2 nights and was made very welcome.The attic room was spotlessly clean, well decorated with an on suite and a comfortable bed. The breakfast was very good with a large selection of cereals, grapefruit and yogurt, I didn't have the cooked breakfast but by all accounts it was freshly prepared and tasty. I will stay there again when business sends me back to Plymouth, as it is located in a quiet street, and is very close to the Hoe, and a short walk from the City Centre.“would always stay there again”

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 May 2012

really nice and tidy place, fine breakfast, slept really well in a huge bed, very friendly and helpful landlord.

Reviewed 11 July 201

"Lovely little Hotel"

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 July 2012

Stayed here 29 June to 1 July whilst working at Armed Forces Day. What a little gem this place is - spotlessly clean, lovely hosts and a really good breakfast. Absolutely everything had been thought of to have in the room, right down to shoe cleaning kit and notepaper and pen (unusual in a small establishment like this).

It was a really good weekend, totally enhamced by having somewhere so nice to stay. I will never want to stay anywhere else in Plymouth now - it is just off the Hoe, so close to town and the Barbican. Plenty of on street parking (permits £2 per day from the hotel) - you really copuld not wish for anywhere better.

“Grandma & Grandpa”

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 July 2012

We stayed at the Athenaeum lodge for 4 nights and were made very welcome.The room was

nicely decorated with on suite and two very comfortable beds.Breakfast was very good with a large selection of cereals,grapefruit and yogurt, the English breakfast was extensive and freshly prepared.We will be staying there again.

 

“Lovely hotel”

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 July 2012 via mobile

We have just returned home from a night at Athenaeum Lodge. The owners were veand friendly and accommodating, allowing us to stay a little longer in our room on the day of our departure due to us attending a wedding and having to get ready in the morning. They were very child friendly and welcoming towards our 4 year old daughter. The room was en-suite and very clean, with lots of nice touches such as cotton wool on the dressing table, and shower gel/shampoo and conditioner in the shower. The B&B is in a great location on the Hoe, a short walk to the Barbican and City Centre. Overall we really enjoyed our stay and would highly recommend this B&B.

 

“Lovely Lovely Guesthouse”

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 29 June 2012

We stayed at the Athenaeum Lodge over the Jubilee weekend and had a very warm welcome. The room was very comfortable and everything was to a very high standard. Breakfast was lovely and obviously freshly prepared. The location is ideal for the Hoe and the wheel. Would recommend.

“Big breakfasts"

tripadvisor - 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 28 June 2012

Good location, clean room and enormous lovely breakfasts. Fantastic to have parking too.

“Always a Warm Welcome”

tripadvisor - 5 of 5 stars  Reviewed 24 May 2012

We use the Atheneum Lodge when visiting our daughter who is in the Navy and is Plymouth based. Jane and David are delightful hosts and are rightly proud of the high standards that they set for comfort, cleanliness and good wholesome home cooking. We have stayed there 3 times and will doubtless do so again. Would recommend it to anyone looking for quality accommodation at a fair price. Great location, only a 3 minute walk to the Hoe, and 12 minutes from the lively bars and restaurants of the Barbican.

“A good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 May 2012

Very easy going and relaxed atmosphere - breakfast, especially the bacon (!) is of good quality.Just one hint - croissants prefer ovens to microwaves. Comfortable bed/ location add up to value for money. Thanks

“The Athenaeum lodge”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 May 2012

Have stayed at this establishment overnight on 3 separate occasions now and have always found it to be clean and comfortable, with the proprietors being extremely welcoming and friendly, and have enjoyed a great breakfast every time.

 “3 nights at the Athenaeum Lodge”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 24 April 2012

A most pleasant stay made the more agreeable by the warm hospitality provided by Jane and David. Clean & comfortable room. Delicious breakfast with lots of choice. A great location - easy access to The Hoe, Barbican and the shopping centre of Plymouth.

May

A wonderful place to spend a short or long stay.
Having been married for fifty years, my wife and I went back to celebrate our anniversary. We could not have chosen a better place. A warm welcome. Fantastic breakfasts, comfortable room. You name it, it's all here. Even a place to park your car. Go and find out for yourself, you will not be disappointed.
David and Hazel - Trivago

 

Amiability and room are worth it!

Daniel072 Henstedt-Ulzburg

13 May 2009

As I was on a round trip through England I stayed three nights at the Athenaeum Lodge and I would never regret it. The city centre was not far away and the rail station a walk of app 30 mins. I was really impressed by the warm welcome at arrival which made me immediately feel comfortable. The room had a nice size with furniture in mind condition, was very clean and had the usual tea facilities added by daily renewed biscuits. ;) A flat screen with Freeview as well as free WiFi access (after asking for the code) existed in the room. With breakfast in the morning you had to order the warm things you liked, cerials, fruit and yoghurt was available, too. Everyone in this B&B was very helpful and friendly. I would always stay there again and recommend it to my family and friends.

 
 
The only guest house, in Plymouth that you will ever need
Cumbria
9 May 2009

We found the Aathenaeum Lodgeto be a really convenient base to walk around Plymouth attractions and shopping centre. we also found access to and from the Devon Expressway to be really convenient, ( using our sat-nav).
The accomodation was first rate and cannot be faulted. Our room was spotless, comfortable and quiet. The room was cleaned and towels changed, every day by Jane and her staff.
Our breakfasts were very good and nothing semed too be any problem to the staff. We requested different choices each day and were never dissapointed.
The owners are very friendly and are always happy to chat. We felt that our stay was much like being at home.
I cannot recomend this guest house too much. For us, it was a really lucky find.
ERIC AND JANICE

 
David & Hazel Godfrey
N. Somerset
May, 2009

Would you please accept our most heartfelt thanks for the few days we spent with you recently. We could not have chose a better place to spend our 50th wedding anniversary.
You and Gina made us so welcome (and the breakfasts were 2nd to none).

If we are around for our 55th, expect us back, if you will have us.

Thank you once again for giving us such a happy time.

By Thank-You Card.

 

I'd definitely stay there again!
LittlePinkFairy
Bristol, United Kingdom
Apr 28, 2009

This guesthouse is amazing!!! Really cheap compared to other places in the area, very friendly, great service, location, and breakfast (where you could help yourself to as much as you wanted!) Quite old fashioned, but very clean and tidy, nice sized room with very comfortable bed!
We walked to the Hoe in about a minute, and to the Barbican for the nightlife in about 10 minutes. The centre was also only about 10 minutes away.

 

If ever going back to Plymouth. We know where to stay!
Mizzentopman
Bergen, Norway
Apr 20, 2009

My colleagues (3) and I stayed at this Guest house for twelve nights due to work in the area. We had to leave early in the mornings (hours before breakfast) however not without something to eat. Our host made shure that the big fellas went well fed every morning. Our mates at one of the famous hotels nearby started every morning hungry. We, my team choosed privacy and the intimated atmosphere you only get at a guesthouse instead of the non personal hotels. We are greatfull that we did. We have spend nights at hotels and inns worldwide. Some we will return to. Fewer we remember and talk about. Only one we really miss. And only one we have bought a christmasgift. Thanks for your hospitality and warmtness. We felt we belonged!
I have read through all reviews and I will follow those who recomend this place to travellers who needs a place to relax and charge their batteries between shopping, leasure or workinghours. If you're staying for a while you will know what I mean. If only for a night I know what you're gone miss.
Finally - on behalf of my colleagues and myself I leave this review as a humble thanks for the efforts that were made to make our days so easy. I only regret that it took so long to fill in these words. rgrds The norwegians John, Vidar, Jan and Geir

 

Friendly and comfortable- made it a perfect weekend away.
Sal1976
Portsmouth, UK
Mar 16, 2009

It is perfectly situated for the Barbican, Hoe and city centre, once we parked up in the (limited) car park we didn't have to move the car again. The owners were friendly and helpful, allowing us to drop off our bags before booking in time. The room was a good sized en-suite, well decorated with the usual added extras (TV, tea making facilities, toiletries etc). We had a room that overlooked the road and at times the traffic and passers by did get a little noisy but it wasn't excessive. We would recommend this B & B and intend to visit again in the future.

 

Athenaeum Lodge - A Homely Atmosphere in an Ideal Situation
MozChurnetside
Churnetside
Dec 6, 2008

Upon entering a quiet street some five minutes walk from The Hoe and from the Main Shopping Centre of Plymouth one can't help but notice the welcoming glow of the Athenaeum Lodge Guest House.
Once inside one is not at all disappointed as it is very tastefully furnished and spotlessly clean with a friendly family atmosphere created by Jane and David. The bedrooms are decorated with style and all have the appreciative little extras that one would wish for.
An excellent full English Cooked Breakfast is served in the well laid out breakfast room with a choice of toast, cereals etc. for those not tempted.
Altogether an excellent choice as a base for tourists, sightseers
and business people but not for those wanting a friendly evening chat with fellow guests as unfortunately there is no lounge.

 

Small AND perfect
marg-co
Hampshire
Nov 14, 2008

We spent one night here whilst visiting relatives in Plymouth and found it a real home from home experience.
Our room was spacious and immaculate. The bed was extremely comfortable with spotless bedding and toiletries were provided (including tissues and cotton buds!)
The cooked breakfast was made to order and so hot and fresh (unlike so many lukewarm buffets!) Nothing was too much trouble and we were asked several times if we would like more tea, coffee, toast etc.
Positionwise, the Athenaeum is perfect, being a 5-10 minute walk to either the town or Hoe and parking was not a problem. We actually parked in th Lodge's own small car park, but it would only have cost £3 for an all day permit in the road.
All in all we had a lovely time staying at the Athenaeum and found it as good as many so called 4*hotels! We would certainly recommend it and hope to return soon.

 

Stay here - you wont regret it
macartney
London
Oct 29, 2008

We'll be brief. Dont spend £100 for a hotel in the centre of Plymouth which is staffed by young foreigners who know nothing of the surrounding area but do yourself a favour and stay here where the owners can give you all the local info in a minute. We did and loved the clean and bright room. However be absolutely sure you can eat the massive freshly cooked "full breakfast " - no moving along a hotel "help yourself counter " containing bacon that has been kept warm for a long while or a fried egg gone to plastic in this place.
The location is great with a very good selection of shops but best of all is the beautiful seashore and countryside all around.
Nick & Phyl
West Dulwich
South East
London
October 2008

 

M of Sheffield
MCTSheffield
Sheffield
Oct 14, 2008

Not only is the Athenaeum Lodge very well situated for the Hoe, Barbican etc it is also a spotlessly clean and fresh establishment - it really does shine like a new pin! On our arrival the warm and friendly welcome given to us by Jane and David made us feel immediately at home, and the breakfasts (which were perfectly cooked) were substantial to say the least! Our rooms were cleaned and tidied every day and our hosts' attention to detail is illustrated by the fact that even when the bedside alarm clock stopped, they noticed it (we didn't mention it) and the battery was replaced immediately. I can wholeheartedly recommend the Athenaeum for anyone looking for a superior B&B and look forward to returning again in the future.

 

ROOM 1 - Not for a lie in!
Granger59
Cardiff
Aug 11, 2008

This review is not a criticism of the Athaeneum Lodge, simply some observations for anyone planning to stay there, and only relate to Room 1, where my partner and I stayed for three nights.

Firstly let me say that the room is large ( a double and single) and spotlessly clean, the window looks out on the rear car park.

The little niggles I have are personal opinions and may be of no consequence to others, however here they are.

The room is advertised as "ensuite" however the W.C. is the ensuite element, being in a separate room, the shower and washbasin are definitely " IN suite". The shower cubicle, open topped, is in the bedroom and the washbasin on the wall outside it at the foot of the bed. I have stayed in this sort of configuration before and cannot say it is something I would choose to have - I prefer my ablutions to separated from my sleeping arrangements, however it isn't something you ask when booking a room - perhaps we should.

A bigger niggle unfortunately is the location of the room. It is on the ground floor, which again will suit a lot of people, however it is next to the breakfast room, close to the front door, staircase to the upper floors, and the "reception area". This is not a room you want if you don't want to partake of breakfast (07.30 - 0845 Mon - Fri and 8-9 Weekends) and have a lie in. Why do these places insist on such early and rigid times? - can't be to suit guests!

The dividing wall to the breakfast room is plasterboard so if you intend lying in take some ear plugs or you will hear the radio / or tv and the conversations as guests are greeted or greet each other, this of course is compounded by those who have a conversation about their day, or plans at the reception area, outside your door.

There is also a lot noise of footfall on the floorboards above, and staircase outside your door as guests head for their breakfast. Lots of people coming down the stairs.

Outside of the breakfast times the hubub disappears, and with an older clientele there isn't much noise in the evening or night, but the mornings? Oh dear.

Please don't misundersatnd me, my partner and I are in our early fifties so it isn't a youngster thing about having a lie in. We tend not to want breakfast as early as most guesthouses offer it, and rarely lie in beyond 8.30 a.m. even on on holiday, but room 1 doesn't afford that luxury.

The hosts did apologise a couple of times for "gossiping" outside the door, but it must be difficult for them not to, being the good hosts they are.

Would I stay at this hotel again, absolutely, it is in an excellent location, very clean, very good value and very friendly. BUT NOT IN ROOM 1. Though they probably won't let us back now.

 

HOME COMFORTS IN GREAT LOCATION
JandYCawson
Cornwall England
Mar 21, 2008

We stayed here February 2008. Located in Plymouth Hoe within a few minutes walk of, the Historic Barbican, National Marine Aquarium and within reach of the Theatre Royal, where we saw a great show
The guest house has been kept immaculate and our room was spacious with a great shower in the en suite.The breakfast was brilliant,lots of choice and well presented, cooked by the owner David with Jane, his wife, serving in the dining room.
.There were some little extras such as free web( WI FI) access and tea and coffee in your room on arrival.The owners David and Jane Kewell were always on hand to help out with directions and advise on where to eat and places to visit.

 

Athenaeum Lodge, A 'must' if you're in Plymouth
alelstree
Elstree, Herts.
Feb 6, 2008

We stayed at the Athenaeum at the beginning of October and what a nice surprise to be greeted by the two friendly hosts David and Jane. The hotel itself is really cosy and is ideally situated near to The Hoe, The Barbican, Shops, Theatres and Restaurants. Our room had all the amenities you would want plus a trouser press. And before you spend the day exploring Plymouth's sights try David's full english breakfast, a real treat.

 

Couldn't find fault
Corrismach
Wales
Oct 24, 2007

What more could you want! Situated in the best part of Plymout, on the best part of the Hoe, this hotel is as close to perfect as possible for one of its kind. Comfortable and clean rooms with little homely touches like coffee and so on in little pots; the best cooked breakfast any of us had ever had; helpful service, over and above the call of duty, and all our names were remembered from the first moment. And access to Internet and wi-fi to boot! And all for a very reasonable cost. You couldn't do better than stay here.

Athenaeum Lodge guest house images